The Versatile Blogger Award

When I woke up this morning, bright and early, and WELL before the crack of dawn, I was expecting today not to be a good day. 

3.50AM (yes, I wake before the sun) doesn’t have a lot going for it already. This Wednesday morning (can we legally call it morning?) being no exception. Rain, cold and high winds added to blinding pain in my upper thigh region from the pulled muscle I sustained during yesterday’s run, and the cookies I just had to have last night before bed sitting like rocks in my belly. 

I start to prepare myself for the day: 
Facebook check – nothing interesting
Phone check – 11 emails, 2 missed text messages, 7 Hanging With Friends & 5 Draw Something notifications 

Now, as I begin sifting through the 11 emails I received in a 9 hour period, something interesting and VERY exciting draws my attention. Two somethings to be exact!

1. WordPress alerted me that I have a new follower (YAAY!!)

2. A fellow blogger nominated me for my second blogging award in less than a month (double YAAY!)!!!

Jules at The J85 nominated me for The Versatile Blogger Award! 

Once again, I am rendered speechless. It’s so humbling not only knowing that someone out there is reading my words, but that they are liking them and would recommend my blog to someone else as well.  

When I started Out Of Sight, On My Mind back in early February, I began with the simple intention of having an outlet for my words. I have always dreamed of being a writer, and while writing may never become a paid profession for me (that’s OKAY, I love it anyway!), I wanted a place to express myself. And if people out there in the universe like what they read, then that’s just icing on the cake!! 

I simply cannot believe someone out there reads my words. This makes me so happy!

SO! In keeping with the fine tradition of this award, the rules:

1. Thank the person who gave you this award. That’s common courtesy.
2. Include a link to their blog.
3. Next, select 15 blogs/bloggers that you’ve recently discovered or follow regularly. (I would add, pick blogs or bloggers that are excellent!).
4. Nominate those 15 bloggers for the Versatile Blogger Award.
5. Finally, tell the person who nominated you 7 things about yourself.

In no particular order the not quite 15 blogs I adore:

The Better Man Project

Tracks By Linds

That Dude Eddie

Cognifeeder

Feisty Red Hair

I Am Not Defined

Halifax Donair

I Promise Performance

And finally, 7 facts about myself to share with my nominator, and the world:

1. My parents raised me right! I got spanked if I was bad, Tobasco sauce on my tongue if I lied, and grounded if I was a pain in the ass. I was taught that manners mean something, good grammar counts, penmanship is important, and than when you’re sorry say it like you mean it! I was also raised to make decisions for myself; to act responsibly, not only for myself but for those around me too; and to value family and friendship more than money and possessions.

2. Television. I love it, but I found myself bored by it, so I got rid of it! I cancelled my cable, and got rid of the 13″ ‘boob tube’ that has followed me around for more than ten years and had been collecting dust in my bedroom for months. I decided I would keep the 40″ LCD in the living room – cos you never know, right? All in all, I couldn’t be happier with the decision.

3. Faith & Religion. Some might think these are mutually exclusive. I may agree today, and disagree tomorrow. The word faith speaks to me more of spirituality than religion, while the word religion brings to mind churches and bibles. The great thing about this country of mine, is that I have the freedom to explore religion and faith. To borrow a little from here and there in order to live my life in a way that is acceptable to me. I don’t call myself religious, but I am devote in my spirituality. 

4. I am stronger than I know.

5. Who I am. I didn’t start feeling like I really knew myself at all until I was in my late 20’s. 28 was the first birthday where I wasn’t scared of getting older. I’ve spent the next two years (up to and including this point) getting to know myself, learning who I am on a deep level, and living up to that. This year I will be turning 30 and so, I have started doing more things for me (I run because I WANT to, I’m planning a vacation because I WANT to, I got a new tattoo because I WANTed to… see the trend?), and less because it’s what’s expected. 

6. Writing. This has been a passion of mine since my 9th grade English teacher, Mr. Healy, told me I was good at it (especially the poetry). Words have always spoken to me (pun intended), and I have always found that what I lack in verbal skills (sometimes A LOT) I can make up for in writing. There’s nothing more exhilarating than sitting down with an idea and having the pen (or keyboard) take over. Writing keeps my mind quiet, and at my age (ha ha ha), there’s nothing nicer than peace and quiet.

7. Tattoos. Wearable, personal, customizable artwork. I adore the entire process! From working with the artist, to design the piece to deciding body placement and having it done, to hearing about (and telling) the story/stories behind the pieces themselves. I have several, with plans for several more (sorry mom).

Peace and Love,
Mandixoxox 

4 thoughts on “The Versatile Blogger Award

  1. Thank you my love! I really appreciate the mention 🙂
    PS. You so eloquently described the exact same way I feel in your #6 fact. LOVE!

Leave a Reply

