T.G.I.Disappointed

With James Taylor’s How Sweet it is (to be loved by you) playing in my ears, the full extent of my disappointment set in. A mere 14 minutes into my evening run, and I could not take another step. The obstacle this time? Not the anticipated icy sidewalks, not the blistering cold, but my body. A pain so excruciating in my shins. It paled in comparison to the dark cloud washing now over me.

In order to succeed, your desire for success should be greater than your fear of failure.     — Bill Cosby  

Do I want to fail?
That question floats on an endless loop in my head, even as I scream my reply: NOOOOO! I DOOOOOOOOOON’T!

I’ve become all too familiar with the concept of failure and disappointment in my twenty nine years. School, relationship, roommate, relationship, roommate, job, relationship. It seems life is an ceaseless series of failures and disappointments designed to test our character and resolve. 

Have I let any one of my previous failures or disappointments define my life? 
No

So what makes this one different?

Is there a discriminate difference between disappointments of the mind and failures of the body? Are the two mutually exclusive? Can we overcome one without acknowledging the existence of the other? 

The answer, quite simply, is no

Our minds see no difference in physical or physiological reasons not to carry on. Those that cannot walk don’t do so because they don’t want to – they can’t.
In order to overcome such mind/body barriers we must recognize that we are human, and that failures or disappointments are just another opportunity to learn, grow, and do better next time. 

If I am to meet with a disappointment, the sooner I know it, the more of life I shall have to wear it off.     — Thomas Jefferson

How will I mend my bruised pride?
A warm bath, ice for my shins, hot chocolate, and a prayer of thanks for all successes of the day. I’l
l try again on Monday 

Peace and Love
Mandixoxox 

Leave a Reply

