What’s Inspiring Me, Right Now – February

Inspiration is all around me. Always. From the sights and sounds of my neighbourhood to the walls of my apartment, and infinity of cyberspace. Music is a constant inspiration and motivating force in my life, in a previous post, I provided a list of albums currently in my iPod, now I’d like to share with you five nearly random things that have inspired and motivated me so far in 2012:

His Holiness The Dalai Lama (http://www.facebook.com/DalaiLama)
I subscribe to his Twitter, Google+ and Facebook feeds, which are ripe with heartwarming quotes and pictures that will really make you think. A recent post reads:
 “Education and knowledge by themselves do not bring inner peace to individuals, families or the society in which they live. But education combined with warmheartedness, a sense of concern for the well-being of others, has much more positive results. If you have a great deal of knowledge, but you’re governed by negative emotions, then you tend to use your knowledge in negative ways. Therefore, while you are learning, don’t forget the importance of warmheartedness.”

Kandee Johnson (http://www.facebook.com/kandeethemakeupartist)
Makeup artist, Craftsperson, Blogger, Vlogger, Mom, and Cheerleader to all, Kandee puts a smile on my face every day. Whether through her makeup and hair tutorials, craft videos, or just with an “I believe in you” status update, Kandee aims to reach out to everyone and add a little beauty to every one’s day.
Follow her on Facebook (link above), her “mommy” blog (http://www.kandeej.com), her beauty and craft blog (http://www.kandeeland.com/), or on YouTube (http://www.youtube.com/user/kandeejohnson?feature=watch)

Encouragement
Perhaps it’s silly for a word to make the list. It’s more than just a word, though, it’s an fantastic support system of friends, family, and neighbours who have gotten me from where I was to where I am. And, where I am today, is writing to all of you! It’s probably a little crass to just assume these people know who they are, so I will take a short moment in a future post to give each of them a little shout out.

Getting Physical
I’ve never been in amazing shape, and that’s suited me just fine – to a point.
In May 2011, I participated in the Bluenose Marathon 10K. I finished just shy of 2 hours (!!) I would have to say that I was probably in the worst shape of my life then, physically and emotionally. After several setbacks between May 2011 and January 2012, I’ve recommitted myself to getting, and staying more active. With the help of my cousin, Sheldon, I started The Biggest Loser Boot Camp (http://www.thebiggestloser.info/the-biggest-loser-workout.html), as well as skating and swimming regularly – all in preparation for Bluenose 2012, where I am hoping to shave at least 60 minutes from my finish time.

Doctor Who (http://www.bbc.co.uk/doctorwho/dw)
Yes, the sci-fi BBC show originally from the 1960’s is a major source of inspiration to me! I have been watching the current incarnation of The Doctor (which began airing in 2005) since August. There is something whimsical about the story in general: a man with no name, and a face that changes, travelling through time and space saving the universe from infinite beings and almost always without weapons. I’ve always had a fascination with the night sky, and all the things up there – all the possibilities. It truly puts life into perspective.

What’s inspiring you right now? Tell me in the comments below

Peace and Love to you all,
Mandixoxox 

Leave a Reply

